Chinese New Year Holiday 2021 Singapore, US, Hong Kong & Taiwan

Chinese New Year Holiday 2021 Singapore, US, Hong Kong & Taiwan! Chinese New Year 2021 comes on Friday, February 12th, 2021. As a public holiday, Chinese people will get 7 days off from work from 11 to17February in 2021. The Chinese New Year animal sign is Ox.

This Spring Festival is a national holiday in China. During the period from the Spring Festival to the first seventh day of the lunar month in the Chinese calendar, government offices, private institutions, schools, universities, and many companies stay closed. However, some important institutions like banks stay open for a few hours a day.

Chinese New Year Holiday

Chinese New Year Holiday 2021 Singapore, US, Hong Kong & Taiwan

Each year in the Chinese calendar is signified by one of twelve animals in the Chinese Zodiac. 2021 will be the year of the Ox. The rat is considered a patient, kind, stubborn, and conservative in China. The Ox is the second of the 12 animal signs of the Chinese zodiac. The next year will be the year of Tiger and 2023 will be the year of the rabbit.

The origin of the Chinese New Year is itself earliest and obscured by the amount of time. It is commonly recognized as the Spring Festival and events last 15 days. The public holidays last about a week and stores and places of business usually open after the fifth day of the first lunar month.

Preparations begin a month before. When people start buying festive equipment, decoration materials, food, and clothing. A huge clean-up gets underway days before the New Year. Maximum Chinese houses are cleaned from top to bottom, to sweep away any traces of bad luck, and doors and windows are given a new coat of paint, usually red.

Fireworks are a huge part of Chinese New Year celebrations. The highest amount of rockets set off on that night than any other night of the year. Over 500 cities in China have actually now either restricted or banned fireworks due to safety concerns and air pollution. But they remain a vastly popular part of the New Year celebrations.

Leave a Comment

24 − = 18